Francesca's Folly


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Back to walking
2007-01-25 - 2:03 p.m.

[Jan. 25th, 2007|02:02 pm]
2 laps of Duke Gardens over "lunchtime". WONDEROUS. I feel great. Endorphin high. It's crisp and chilly outside, but that's perfect walking weather. The garden's are lovely and a lot of things are blooming, which sadly will be frozen when it gets down to 18 tomorrow. Sigh. Wishing I'd get back to walking at lunchtime daily. Would mean I manage to get up earlier and into work earlier and ... well, it's a goal I just need to set and meet. Wishing won't cut it.

Walking would mean

-better work attitude
-a break from the stress to recapture perspective
-more exercise
-more contribution to the main goal of less of me
-I'd get to see the season's change
-I'd get to see some sunlight and there'd be less sunlight-deprived depression

Listed that way, why is it I let the daily walk vanish? Hmmmmm....

Tomorrow it'll be because I have lunch with SCA folks at Francesca's on Erwin Road.

Monday... well, I think I"ll just have to bring clothes both for walking and for lifting. Heh. Totally spoil myself. Hey... I like being spoiled. :-)
---------------------------------

[Jan. 25th, 2007|11:05 am]
I am no longer a piddidle. Yes, smiling at the AutoZone guy assured he installed the new headlight bulb and that his co-worker buddy kibitzed despite being on a smoke break, but it also seems to have fuddled him some as at first the wrong bulb was indicated. Hmmmm. My oil is also now changed as is my back windshield wiper.

Have I mentioned lately how much I dislike having to deal with car stuff? Well, it generally makes me, an otherwise intelligent person, feel like a nincompoop and it's a feeling I'd rather not experience. Cars, in my world, should just work, require no extra thought and be generally fun to drive. Naturally, my world doesn't really happen, so I just get to be irritated when maintenance and upkeep things have to happen. Sigh.

So last night I did get to the gym, through a good lower body work out, went through garb and have an entire garbage bags worth of too big garb to dispose of (size 18 ish), bagged up the size 18 work clothes in a big black bag (not to decide what to do with them), determined that my viking apron for Ymir needs 8" taken in before then (not going for form fitting, just not looking like I'm wearing someone else's clothing), found my stash of white fabric for new chemises and picked out fabric for the new sideless project. Oh, and I had fish and spinach salad as dinner while Scott got pasta with the sauce I made last weekend (because I'd had that for lunch yesterday and didn't want it twice in one day - that much tomato sauce making my stomach too acidy).

Today I'll walk at lunch, but didn't get to my exercising this morning. I keep waking up through the night and it's making it harder to get out of bed early.

On the bus in this morning (drive to parking lot, take bus to circle, walk to office and reverse every work day is ... annoying... will be nice if we do get to move into the most probably new office space in April and can park right next to the building and be within walking distance of the East Campus gym) I was remembering some of the stuff folks chatted with me about contra dancing on Friday night. Specifically, one guy with whom I was chatting when I discovered I'd blown out the side of my dancing shoes (really, they were 20 or so years old so it was probably time) and he said I had princess feet. Princess feet? I gawked at him confused. What does that mean? Well, he calmly explained, princess's have tiny little cute feet. Huh? OK. I stared mutely at my feet. Can't begin to tell you what all went through my head... some SCA amusement... some little girl images of Disney... and mostly... wow, this is weird. Is this guy real? He seemed very happy with himself over this revelation. Guys are so strange sometimes. Don't get how they think. Princess feet.

And where my mind wanders isn't odd? Well, no not to me.

OK, so must get on with my work day.

Hope your days are good ones.
---------------------------------

the day turned around [Jan. 24th, 2007|11:26 am]
I woke up with a headache... well the second time I woke up... the first being at 3 a.m. again. Sigh. All low and pitiful... Dragged into work which is going to entail the dreaded informed consent revisions. Boss man wanted to see file on one that isn't going well (through no fault of mine... chalk that up to someone at Harvard, actually), but I had what he needed. Good. Had to tell A-saurus yoga couldn't happen again tonight, but lifting was still on. We both pouted.

And then...

A caramel macchiato called/screamed my name. A ghostly, guttural purr from down in the coffee shop... it beckoned. I, being a weak individual and knowing skim milk would not make it a disaster on my diet, succumbed.

And... it was good. Hot, warm carmel on whipped cream covering caffeine goodness. Wow.

The remnants of my headache are dissipating. A-Rex sent me a link to a picture of one of the worlds most beautiful beaches (I am a beach loving maniac; http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:StJohnTrunkBay.jpg) and... well, the world righted itself. The patience and insight of a friend to wait through my down mood, knowing happy is more my thing plus the reminder of one of the worlds most wonderful attributes... gorgeous beaches... and the seduction of hot caramel won the day.

I am again a happy camper. Ta-Da!

Amazingly, the need to suck in all kinds of food that I don't really need and am not really hungry for has also backed off as well. Sweet! (Dude!)

Usually dancing does this for me (hafla at Buckston last night... good drumming and improve rather than structured teaching), or the weight-lifting endorphin rush... but I wasn't getting over this bump in the road from those this week. Ah well... it takes all sorts of things to keep on the one true path to a better me. Live and learn them all, I will.

Oh, and it didn't hurt that coming back with my caramel goodness a woman who used to work just down the hall stopped me to tell me how impressed she was with my progress. Jackie's a good egg and she's quitting smoking so we talked about how the strategies we need to use are similar and both of us left the brief conversation with self congratulatory smiles on our faces. Yay!

So, Scott's over for dinner tonight... and poor thing will probably need to talk to me while I help the house a bit... but really it's the conversation each week we both enjoy, so he's pretty good about my tendency to putter when he's over. I'm also going to organize a few projects to work on this weekend... chemises and mittens, I'm thinking. Hmmmm, maybe it'll be more about going through fabric tonight. Ooooo, that sounds fun... heh... and like that plans shift. Ooo, and a dog walk, too. E-dog would love that and it'd be more exercise. Yay!

snoopy/charlie brown theme music running through my head as I mentally do the happy dance

Wishing everyone a good turn around moment and a great day!

previous - next