Francesca's Folly


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

le baiser
2006-12-13 - 1:27 p.m.

Sometimes my French Word-of-the-Day with it's attached quote is just wonderful:

le baiser (beh zay) noun masculine
kiss

Un baiser est un tour d�licieux con�u par la nature pour couper la parole quand les mots deviennent superflus.

A kiss is a lovely trick designed by nature to stop speech when words become
superfluous. --Ingrid Bergman

le sigh.

[Dec. 13th, 2006|10:13 am]
My throat's a little sore this morning. I forgot to take my allegra. Sigh. I just don't want to remember I have allergies and be all adult about them. Sleepy morning when I'd have rather to have stayed in bed. I got around to cooking again last night... my mom's marinated flank steak, green beans and potatoes with green onions, parsley and parmesan cheese. Yum. I always think of Nikulai when it comes out of the oven. He used to be a vegetarian. Weights tonight before heading home to have Brigitta and Manus over for dinner tonight. Friends over for dinner is always wonderful... but doubly so this time of year.

Mellow. Not a high energy day.

1. I am thankful for the new gloves that match my suit.
2. I am thankful for Emerson's cute dog maneuvers.
3. I am thankful for my warm bed.

[Dec. 12th, 2006|01:25 pm]
Better day today. Need to be more productive, but still cruising along.

Lifting did help yesterday... I truly had a pecked to death by ducks afternoon and by the time I got to the gym... late, poor A had such a terrible mood to face... but face it he did and stuck me on the first machine (quads) with his Ipod on my head and after the first 15 lifts I was starting to smile and by the end of the 3rd set... I was grinnin' like a fool. Whew! The magic of endorphins. He needed to leave before I was done, but I was already much, much better. Thank you, lifting pardner. You rock!

Called Charlotte and we met up at WF for dinner... salad... VEGGIES! Girl talk. Was good. Love the Charlotte.

Got home later than anticipated. Stared at the Christmas tree while chatting on the phone and then just gave up and went to bed. Good plan. ;-)

I did my walk kick video this morning and barely reacted to my allergy shot, so today is much better.

On with it! Hope your days are going better, too.

[Dec. 11th, 2006|10:21 am]
Some time ago a co-worker gave me a bunch of work clothes that were to big for her daughter and ... today I'm wearing a blue Talbot's suit that didn't fit (pants, no less) when she gave it to me and I look OH so professional.... and, I confess, smug with a self satisfied smirk on my face. I am very petty. No, the smug is not really focused on any one person... just a general... HAH, world, see I can change me attitude. AND the top of the pants is rolled over twice which does not show given the white sweater top that comes down to my hips... so I get to be all smug about that, too.

Taking a moment to just grin at the computer.

OK, so I also had a nice weekend. I didn't get my corset finished... :-(.... the urge for yarn overtook me. See, when it gets cold... my fingers just itch for yarn. I finished some naal binding socks instead. I also learned about leather embossing or tooling and the directions in which you work the leather to make the leather lest pinched looking, how to correct mistakes and though it was all fairly basic, I enjoyed it. Watching anyone who's so into their craft they get all snobbish about it... is a kick. Thinking about leather as a moldable surface... is weird. Just sayin'. Yeah, I've seen the armor and the curves it can shape, but watching the surface become molded, curved and alive.... just was not in my experience before this weekend. I also have a bigger appreciation of what the leather masks they do for Venetian carnival take to make. Wow.

I got to watch several movies, hang out with friends and generally enjoy myself as did Emerson this weekend, but... well... I really need to come back to reality for my diet, refocus on reclamation, remember my body is NOT in it's 20's, no matter how much better I feel that the beginning of the fall. Sigh. Discipline. I did not do so well on how I am choosing to eat this weekend. I foresee a veggie frenzy this week and added hours working on cardio as I spent far too much time sitting on a couch doing hand work. Ah well, rest is good, too. Spinach and samon for lunch for me today. Spicy black bean soup later. Yum. :-) It really is not a hardship to stick to core. Amazing.

previous - next