Francesca's Folly


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Mom's birthday today
2007-01-22 - 11:50 a.m.

[Jan. 22nd, 2007|10:18 am]
Good weekend. Got to Contra dance Friday night after burritos with the Charlotte at Cosmic Cantina and a drive by congratulatory visit at George's garage to Rhieinwylydd. (Yay, you!!) So nice to see her all lit up and happy. Danced with someone at the contra who had on a brand new looking T-shirt of featuring the 6 train (NYC) which I bet (and won the bet) I'd ridden on/lived in NYC before the fellow was born. Sigh. Went to the Spotted Dog afterward and had a lovely coffee. Despite the coffee, I was really ready for bed by the time I got home and was asleep almost simultaneously upon my head hitting the pillow.

Helped Benefse and Olivier move on Saturday. Was basically a slug before that - I'd weighed in and was up probably because I could not get enough carbs Friday... sigh... better planning this week is already happening food wise- carbs through the week so as to avert craving by the end of the week - but was still sleepy (staying out after contra makes a late night for me after a long work week) when I got home so dozed, played with dog and read a novel through the morning... much didn't get done, but perhaps relaxation has its own merits. Enjoyed seeing much of Flamingbolt during the move and Eslbeth's chile was GREAT.

I, however, HAD to go home and do an extra long exercise tape to combat the intake of the last 2 days... and felt much better about me afterward. Goal - more exercise this week.

Sunday I slept in, got my Christmas decorations put up (finally - they've been occupying Emerson's chair and he has been pointing it out to me for weeks now) and made a wonderful pot of spaghetti sauce with chicken andouille sausage (Has a kick!), which sadly my dinner guest could not eat (sad what ulcers can do to change eating capabilities - I didn't realize the full impact :-( ), so ended up making fish and veggies which was good, too. Watched both The Terminal and the 3rd Lord of the Rings movie. Missed the Saints game, for which I am now grateful. Really wish they could have pulled that one out. NO needs the lift.

Oh... and I talked to my Mom after work on Friday and it looks like in May when I go to hear my sister sing with the Albany Symphony (5/5/07 - Albany, GA - Mahler's 5th and some other stuff), that I'll be staying on to have lunch with her book group and Rosalind Carter on Monday. I'm totally excited! Thanks, Mom!!!

Best get on with work. Wish it wasn't dreary weather wise today. Could stand to be a little more perky. :-) Not sure everyone else could stand me to be more perky, but I could. :-)!

[Jan. 19th, 2007|04:24 pm]
Thank you, Irmgart! Thank you, Guenievre! (LJ icon help)

Happy weekend, all.


Pictures of me at 12th Night - a face with the words [Jan. 19th, 2007|02:53 pm]
Pictures of me by Irmgart:

http://s125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/irmgart/12thnight07/?action=view�t=1-16-07049.jpg

http://s125.photobucket.com/albums/p46/irmgart/12thnight07/?action=view�t=1-16-07050.jpg

Not really savvy on the whole insert links thing. Not really so fond of pictures of me, but I did have a good time at 12th Night so I at least look happy. :-) Hey, Irmgart, any chance I could make the one of me looking at you straight on and use it as one of my little icon thingies in LJ? (And how do I do that? :-)

Lunch with Ysolt, Maddelena, Magaritte, Margaret and Rhieinwylydd was good. Wasn't so much into salad today... wanting carbs. Need to remember to eat them with my salads for lunch all during the week or ... carb cravings set in my Friday. :-)

Sounding like some folks are gaming rather than dancing tonight... I still feel like dancing. Need to MOVE. :-)


Drum roll please [Jan. 19th, 2007|11:01 am]
So, last night I was thinking how all day my velveteen jeans that I wore to work yesterday were bagging. And... I promised to hem some jeans for a co-worker who believes sewing is one of the worlds biggest mysteries (hemming? come on ... yes, she really is completely incapable if minor sewing and she's a friend... so I did it... it was easy and she'll buy me a latte... I'm easy). And I remembered the last pair of jeans I'd saved on that top shelf in the back of my closet that are a size 12... so... no one was looking... I tried them on...

AND THEY FIT!

Wow. I haven't fit in those jeans in.... well, I don't honestly remember when I got them... but probably before I was married in 1993.

AND

I'm wearing a size 12 suit today... I bought it the last time I was on a roll with WW and never got to wear it because I ordered it too small (by mistake actually) and never sent it back.... so I have it on for the very first time today. Skirt and jacket. It's a bit tight, but not obscene. The other size 12 stuff I won't wear out of the house yet, but can go on my body. A few more pounds and they'll fit OK, but ... sadly, they're summer work clothes (shot sleeved) which means I may never be able to wear them, because by summer I plan to be too small for them. Turn about is fair play after all.

Can you say HAPPY GIRL! That's right, I thought you could. HAH!

There's something about a close fitting skirt, stockings and high heels that just feels all girlie. AND I earned this. Well, not today I didn't. I couldn't force myself out of bed to do a video, but contra dancing should get me my daily sweating goal. heh.

So, I did work late last night. I did get the rest of the laundry washed, but not all folded. A bit remains on my bed. I did get Marti's jeans hemmed. I did get the trash out and most of the kitchen straightened. I did make groceries, but the store was almost empty and getting my milk was a non-issue. There was lots. Had to wonder if with global warming the NC reaction to ice and snow had changed. A bit unsettling.

*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*+*

So, in things I've been thinking about... I need new garb. Mine looks like I'm some sort of medieval bag woman or that I've purloined someone else's clothes. I think someone told me that it was like I did actually have someone else's clothes because I'm no longer that person. Anyhoo, Katerina loaned me as back up garb for 12th Night a sideless laced up the sides piece of garb that she sometimes wears ... well... I love it. It's reversible (so 2 would make 4 different outfits with chemises) and ... I'm thinking a couple of those would get me through Gulf Wars nicely. I can make chemises all day long... so... I need to hook up with the beautiful one and see what can be worked out. Make one, borrow the second. ... Please ... I know you're supremely busy, but ... well... Please.

I also am feeling a desperate need to cull belongings. I have too many. It's starting to feel like they are suffocating me. I believe culling will commence this weekend. Purging of the non-used. Purging of the too big. Thinking this will include books as well. I've done that before and it tends to be a bit scary... but... well, I really haven't missed it once it's gone. Less to take care of would be good.

It's January. Time to get my year going on an energetic path. Plan of attack formulating. This year's going to be fun. If it isn't fun, why do it? :-) Or... If it isn't fun, find a way to make it fun. Find the positive.


[Jan. 18th, 2007|12:55 pm]
Yep, snowing. Snowed more at my house that in the rest of Durham... that whole crossing the Eno means I'm in another sub-zone thingie than my workplace. Snow topped ice ribbons on my street this a.m. I wimped out and came into work late. They said it'd melt by lunch, and in fact it had by 10:30. My zoom-zoom isn't as stable or road hugging as the Subaru used to be. Sigh. Anyway, when the weather folks were all chiming in to say the snow had stopped... I was watching 1" flakes falling in my back yard. Uh, no guys, it hasn't.

Scott brought a DVD of a series pilot over last night to watch. Dead Like Me. He knows I'm a Mandy Patinkin fan. In this series, he plays a grim reaper. ??? What ??? well, yes, he takes souls from those who die. Ew. Actually... it totally brought me down from my work out high. Sigh. Wasn't really up for the message of how random death is and how everyone dies and how pointless it all seems.

OK, so my work out was good yesterday. Circuit of all body parts. One set (15-20 reps) on each body part (quads, hams, inner/out thighs, calves, chest, shoulders, back, triceps, biceps, abs) and went through it twice before hunger and needing to be home time-wise won out. AND... though I cannot bench press my body weight which seems to be the bragging rights of lifting recently or perhaps always as I'm new to all this... I can actually push up the bar from the stand with my body weight on it. Just don't ask me to bring that back down to my chest and push it all the way up. (A-saurus had me spot him while he pressed his body weight and then insisted I try for mine, despite my complete doubt on the topic.) Baby steps. It really is amazing that what he believes I can do, I do. How does that work? It's a mystery.

So tonight a friend was going to bring me dinner while I attack my house with an eye towards liv-ability. My home needs attention. My dog needs attention. My life needs some focus from me. But... well, the weather's doing it's thing and possibly freezing roads, so I'm on my own for tonight. Means I'll be at work later. Means it's pot luck from the frig. Means a night all to myself. While I was looking forward to company, a night on my own also holds appeal. Especially as my mood is somewhat somber today. I am not at my most gregarious. Hmmmm, maybe I can get some lentils cooking... comfort food. That would be yummy. Should be amusing to stop by a grocery store, too. We in NC have grocery store panic whenever the weather looks wintery or stormy. Generally makes me giggle. It's snowing, therefore we must buy bread and milk. :-) Fine southern logic.

previous - next